Kyndall’s With Jesus

Kyndall’s with Jesus

When I read that Kyndall had taken her last earthly breath and her first heavenly breath I wondered how to comfort James and Jonathan since they have never experienced the death of a loved one. I wanted them to see the gospel in death as well as in life. Then I wondered where I would find comfort in my sadness.

I prayed. God comforted. I want to share His comfort with you.

**********

This week Kyndall entered the Gates of Thanksgiving and the Courts of Praise.

1 Corinthians 13:12, “For now we see in a mirror dimly, but Kyndall sees face to face. Now I know in part; she knows fully.” AMEN!

I am happy this is Kyndall’s reality but I’m sad too. James, Jonathan, Matti and I had several conversations this week about these dual realities: rejoicing that Kyndall is with Jesus and grieving the loss of her smiling face. Oh how that face lit up the hearts of those around her! I don’t like thinking about a world where I can’t see her smile any more or feel the warmth of her soft eyes as they searched to know how others around her were feeling.

In one hand I must hold the truth; she is in heaven longing for MY glorification. In the other hand rests my experience; I miss her and want her here. The Truth comforts me but theology alone makes me cold, distant, disconnected, in different. Lean too far into my feelings and my life is tossed to and fro by the winds of my passions and emotions. Jesus is love, joy, peace patience, kindness, gentleness, and self-control. These qualities are my identity too because my life is hidden in him. I must laugh with those who laugh and cry with those who cry while resting my hope in Christ who has prepared a future and hope for me in glory.

Where is the gospel in death?

Ecclesiastes 7:2 says, “It is better to go to the house of mourning than to go to the house of feasting, for this is the end of all mankind, and the living will lay it to heart.”

If death weren’t possible, redemption wouldn’t be realized. Without Christ we’re all bound to eternal death. His resurrection frees us from the bondage of sin and death. Kyndall ministered to us through her life and now she speaks the gospel equally loud through her death. Dare we listen? Dare we pause in our sadness and hear the sermon she preaches? The loss of our friend is a reminder that redemption is needed and it’s ours through Jesus. It’s a reminder that our hope is not of this earth; that we are not of this earth. It’s also an opportunity to remember our calling.

Mark 16:15-16, And he said to them, “Go into all the world and proclaim the gospel to the whole creation. Whoever believes and is baptized will be saved, but whoever does not believe will be condemned.”

Am I happy Kyndall’s in heaven? Absolutely! Does the thought of never seeing her smile until I go to heaven make me sad? Absolutely!

Kyndall Lowe is my friend. Together we laughed… cried… shared… comforted…loved.

And therein lies our life in Christ. Thank you Lord.

“…but they who wait for the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.” Isaiah 40:31


2 thoughts on “Kyndall’s With Jesus

  1. Martha Brady says:

    i didn’t know kyndall, but have heard great things about her from people who did. I know she will be missed.
    Thanks for the great tribute to her and the reminder of what our salvation means both for us (the left-behind-ones) and the one who is now with the Lord. So encouraging!

  2. Bridgette Booth says:

    Hey Ali,
    What a sweet tribute to Kyndall. It is encouraging to think of those who have moved ahead as cheering for us from the heavens. 🙂

    By the way, I subscribed through the RSS feed instead of following you. I prefer to check blogs through Atom or Google Reader. It’s just easier and doesn’t clog my email as much.

Leave a Reply

