Tyranny of the Urgent

I am tempted to forget God when life throws many things at me all at once. I rapidly move from one thing to another focused on the immediate need that presents itself. At the end of the day, tension in my neck gives me a headache. I feel whipped. The tyranny of the urgent has robbed my freedom.

My husband, Jim, has a job that requires him to live 300 miles away from us five days a week. We are so thankful for this after living seven months last year without a job. My boys and I remain behind to sell our home. We accept our roles and for the most part are happy to do what is necessary, but the list of “necessaries” is long and it is easy to lose focus on why we are here, which is to glorify God and enjoy him forever.

If for one moment I believe life depends upon me, I fall. Time restraints produce pressure and pressure produces tension. As tensions rise, the ground work is being laid for the enemy to attack. More pressure means more opportunity to fail, or does it? Pressure tempts me to believe, “It all depends upon me,” but the pressure isn’t the problem. Pressures are a mirror to reveal who I  trust.

Galatians 3:2,3 tells me I am not perfected by the flesh, “Did you receive the Spirit by works of the law or by hearing with faith? Are you so foolish? Having begun by the Spirit, are you now being perfected by the flesh?”

This is a comfort to me and I hope it comforts you too when you feel like life is swallowing you up. We can’t change our circumstances but we can rely upon the One who loves us to glorify himself in the midst of the circumstances. Our work isn’t to change ourselves but to behold the glory of the Lord. This is rest during the tyranny of the urgent.

2 Corinthians 3:18, “And we all, with unveiled face, beholding the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from one degree of glory to another. For this comes from the Lord who is the Spirit.”

One thought on “Tyranny of the Urgent

  1. Lee says:

    Don’t I know this right now! I’m thankful that someone else I know is having very similar circumstances, although I know it isn’t at all about me…it’s just a comfort to know that God gives us friends to help sharpen one another.

Leave a Reply

